True Password Strength Needs a Story

I’m sure many of you are frustrated by managing passwords, I know I am.  Security concerns are rising as major retailers have been hacked. I’ve had a good system for some years but it’s beginning to fail as the requirements for secure passwords increase.

Along comes comic xkcd to save the day! This is the best explanation and example I’ve seen to cut the confusion!

I’m guilty of using the base word & numeral method. I figured my great vocabulary and intelligence could outwit hackers. LOL. It’s not the hacker you have to worry about, its the machine and it’s speed.

Seeing the diagram of ‘entropy bits’ and the formulas for decryption made it abundantly clear that my old system was fatally flawed.

Notice how the recommended method requires telling a story! Clever humans, we’re still smarter than the machine, especially if we think about the ways we really shine.

One comment

Leave a Reply

